Whitby - where the going gets tough!

Grosmont bank, Tour de Yorks route.
Grosmont bank, Tour de Yorks route.

The Whitby section of the Tour de Yorkshire will put cyclists through their paces when they take on some of the steepest and toughest stretches of roads in the county.

Here we follow the route, street by street, all the way from when it enters our patch at Castleton to Robin Hood’s Bay where riders will then head to Scarborough for the final section of Stage 1.

The Whitby area is taking centre stage with the route also passing through Danby, Glaisdale, Egton and Sleights.


High Street, Church Street, over the river bridge and continue to West Lane then taking a sharp right and sharp left onto Brier Hill at Danby.


Brier Hill then on to the long descent down Lodge Lane, bear right passing Crow Woods on left hand side, turn left onto Lawns Road until reaching the moors road, turn left towards Great Fryup beck and then taking the sharp right hand turn and going over Leaholm cross roads.


High Street, Carr Lane, Arncliffe Terrace, pass train station, under railway bridge and over the River Esk ford then taking the steep and twisting climb up Limber Hill.


From Limber Hill head onto Egton Lane then turn right at the village green and head down Egton High Street towards Grosmont.


Come through Grosmont on to Front Street and up the long hill to Eskdaleside.


From Eskdaleside join Coach Road, head down the hill, over the Salmon Leap bridge and up to the roundabout heading into Whitby.


Guisborough Road to Four Lane Ends roundabout. Mayfield Road, Prospect Hill, Downdinner Hill, Bagdale, Victoria Square, Station Square, New Quay Road, over Swing Bridge, Church Street, Green Lane, turning right onto Hawsker Lane, Stainsacre Lane.


Turn left onto the B1447 through Hawsker and past the Hare and Hounds pub, pass caravan site entrance staying on B1447 and Raw Pasture Bank.

Robin Hood’s Bay

Station Road, turn right onto Thorpe Lane.


Thorpe Lane, over Church Lane/Middlewood Lane cross roads, Thorpe Bank, Sledgates.

From here the cylists will rejoin the A171 Whitby to Scarborough road. They will drop into Cloughton and Burniston for the final section of Stage 1 which is around 108 miles in total.