Whitby eighth after Kirby golfers have a field day

Share this article

Kirkbymoorside golfers had a field day at the Scarborough & District Alliance meeting at Driffield on Saturday.

Three of the leading four pairs were from Kirkbymoorside with scores of 59, 61 and 62, so their four-card aggregate was 246, 12 better than North Cliff in second place and 27 better than Whitby in 8th.

North Cliff lead the Pennant after two games with 523, with Kirkbymoorside in second with 528 and Bridlington third on 531.

Whitby are 8th with 549. The Whitby scores were: 65 S Walker & R Marshall; 69 D Bennett & C Noble, A Lyth & P Easton; 71 S Purvis & M Clarkson, J Jewell & A Dent; 72 R Scott & M Kerr; 73 K Barker & J Wightman.

The next Tigers Alliance meeting is at Kirkbymoorside on Sunday October 20.

At home the Midweek Medal was won by Brian Jamieson with 67. Mike Coates had 69, Denis Roper 71 and Kevin Barker 72.

Neil Coates won Division One of the October Medal with 66, one stroke ahead of Alex Wiggins on 67.

As their gross score was 3 under par 68, the final of the Jim Cooke Scratch Cup between these two players should be worth watching.

Mike Kilpatrick also had 67 and Chris Batchelor 68. In Division Two, Richard Schofield had 66, Roger Davison 69 and Brian Grange and Malcolm Eglon 70.

Sunday’s Am-Am (best two nett scores from the four players on each hole) was won by Richard Brown, Steve Foster, Steve Swales and Richard Barker with a 16 under par score of 126.

Paul Ventress, Kevan Little, Roger Davison and John Carter were just one stroke behind in second place.

The Winter Stablefords begin on Saturday October 12; there are no starting sheets – just roll up and play.

The 2014 Qualifying Round for the Daily Mail Foursomes is on Sunday 13th and there is a Midweek Stableford on Wednesday.

In the October Medal on Tuesday, Karen Feloows was the winner on 75, beating Barbara Knaggs over the back nine.

June Halley had 78. Jean Owens had 8 points in the accumulator.

Rabbits’ Captain Byron Blessed beat Howard Dean in the final of the Rabbits’ section summer knockout.

At the AGM which concluded the summer season of the Seniors, section Andrew Burbidge was elected Seniors Captain to succeed John Wightman.

There were two draws in the 200 Club with Gordon Mackenzie and Don Stanley each winning £100.