Skywalker sails hands solo to finish line

SEVEN boats came out to compete in the second of the series of pursuit races, with the slower boats setting off first with the hares following.

Bullitt 2 was the first to catch Nemesis and Monty (first to start), with Skywalker also quickly overtaking them.

No Compromise struggled with her spinnaker, losing her time and Antix consumed Icon on the leg to Sandsend.

The leaders started the beat back from Sandsend - some choosing the offshore route, others inshore, with neither gaining significant advantage.

The steady progress of Antix allowed her to catch Masquerade and close on both Monty and Nemisis.

Icon, not far behind, also overtook Masquerade but at the front, Skywalker had established a comfortable lead over her sister boat, Bullitt 2.

Although both were well ahead of the pursuers, Antix had the bit between her teeth and were hot on their heels.

As the clock counted down, the two hours Antix managed to overtake Bullitt 2, to take second place, but nobody was to catch the winner, Skywalker.

Result: 1 Skywalker, Pete Brown; 2 Antix, John Allen; 3 Bullitt 2, Matt Robinson.

A ROLLING sea and a light easterly wind greeted the eight boats, out for the second of the Spring Series.

Antix hit the line just on the starting signal, but the class B boat, Bullitt 2 was close behind and travelling well.

Ground was lost to several boats as they were forced to tack too early to make the pier end mark.

Antix was quick with her spinnaker, but No Compromise was chasing her hard.

Ace also managed to get away from the bunch with a good spinnaker run.

On the beat back from Sandsend, No Compromise was able to get her nose in front of Antix and Icon took Ace.

In class B, Bullitt 2 established an unassailable lead leaving Nemesis and Cavalier to figh it out for the final places.

On the last circuit, slick spinnaker handling pushed Antix to the front of Class A. Although Cavalier would lead Nemesis in, the handicap would reverse the order.

Result, Class A: 1 Antix, John Allen; 2 No Compromise, Derek Frank; 3 Icon, Neil and Lorraine Williamson; Class B: 1 Bullitt 2, Matt Robinson; 2 Masquerade, David Duke; 3 Nemesis, Nathaniel Drake.