Robinson ‘dives’ through to claim expert triumph

editorial image

Two local stars of the motocross scene, Guisborough’s Sean Robinson and Glaisdale’s Stuart Houlston, headed a first-class entry at Whitby Motocross Club’s fourth club round at Skelder Bank Farm.

Perfect conditions and slick organisation gave riders and spectators value for money with four blocks of races.

Danby’s rising star, teenager Robbie Dowson, proved in fantastic form.

The young KTM rider grabbed the first two race wins, the first from Glaisdale flyer Houlston, who was back to his terrier-like best and Huddersfield’s Matt Stephenson, the second, with Neal and Robinson fighting for runner-up berth.

The third was a belter.

Dowson, sadly, hit the deck early on to put him out of the reckoning.

Rob Ainley took charge only to slide off after the whoops, leaving Graeme Parker in the lead, harrassed by Robinson and Houlston with Robinson diving through to win, as Parker hung on to second with Houlston third.

Robinson’s second place in the last leg sealed the overall win from Houlston by just six points.

Mark Franklin from Ainthorpe grabbed sixth overall with 4th, 5th and 6th places in Junior B, while Whitby club stalwart, Mike ‘Jagger’ Dowson, the elder statesman of this sport now, finished runner-up to Rod Heald in the Vets race.


Expert: 1st Sean Robinson (Yamaha), 2nd Stuart Houlston (Yamaha), 3rd Matt Stephenson (Yamaha), 4th Tom Neal, 5th Robbie Dowson (KTM), 6th Graeme Parker (Husqvarna).

Junior A: 1st Michael Graham, 2nd Jake Biggs (KTM), 3rd Ben Hunter (Yamaha), 4th Dan Hart (Yamaha), 5th Callum Cree (KTM), 6th Lee Thornton.

Vets: 1st Rod Heald (Kawasaki), 2nd Mike Dowson (KTM), 3rd Derek Ward (Honda), 4th Jez Bailey (Yamaha).

Junior B: 1st Callum Hirst (Honda), 2nd Mark Cardwell (Honda), 3rd Phil Lawrence (Suzuki), 4th James Ward (Honda), 5th Charles Staveley Honda), 6th Mark Franklin (Suzuki).

Junior C1: 1st Carl Heslop (Suzuki), 2nd Henry Harman, 3rd Chris Lloyd, 4th Josh Smith, 5th Ross Milner (Kawasaki), 6th Lewis Bean (KTM).

Junior C2: 1st Alan Morton (Yamaha), 2nd Adam Talbot, 3rd Mathew Bean (Yamaha), 4th Neil Eastwood (Honda), 5th William Burdon, 6th Gary Small (Yamaha).

Whitby Motocross Club website states that round five has been rescheduled from Sunday August 30 to Sunday August 23 due to unforeseen circusmtances.