Medal win reduces Wiggins’ handicap

SAM Wiggins continued his good season and his handicap reduction with a win in Division One of the September Medal with a nett 66, bringing his handicap down to six.

Kieran Noble and Kevan Little had 67, with Martin Shackleton, Dean Bennett, Andy Pearson and Ian Wiggins on 69.

Division Two was won by Malcolm Eglon with 67, ahead of Paul Sykes on 69, Brian Grange and Jim Hall on 70 and Mel Purvis, John Carter and Billy Hardy on 72.

The September Medal brings the Silver Dollar Salver to a close, with the winner being the person with the best four-card aggregate from the first six medals.

This year the winner is Matty Brown with a score of 272. James Jewell is second with 274, Kieran Noble third on 275 and Dean Bennett fourth with 277. Malcolm Eglon and Martin Shackleton had 279.

Earlier in the week, Mike Coates won the Midweek Medal with 68, beating Scott Major who had 69.

This was Scott’s last competition before returning to New Zealand. John Carter, Peter Easton and Tam McConville had 70, with Steve Swales, Malcolm Eglon and Steve Foster on 72.

Sunday’s competition for the men was a Texas Scramble, and this was won by the last team out, Simon Gibson, Graham Bedford, Graham Wicking and Byron Blessed, with 58.2. Just 0.5 behind were Peter R Brown, Mike Kilpatrick, Phil Mead and Neil Coates, and Ian Wiggins, Sam Wiggins, Dean Bennett and Richard Jewell were third on 60.2.

The RNLI Mixed Greensomes was played the same afternoon and Bob Scott and Sandra Bastiman were the winners with 69, one stroke ahead of John and Janet Wightman. Paul Ventress and Sue Wessel had 71, the same score as Howard Drake and Lady Captain Jennifer Ratcliffe.

The seniors’ section played their Memorial Trophy on Thursday and Richard Braithwaite produced his best round of the year to win with a nett 66.

Brian Gent was second with 68, and Bill Chisholm, Vic Wilson and Keith Wick had 74.

Mandy Coates won the ladies September Medal on Tuesday 11 September with 76. Karen Fellows had 79, Kath Walker 80 and Jennifer Ratcliffe 83.

The ladies’ section enjoyed a fine but very windy Invitation Day on Friday. The winning team were Kath Cooling and Doreen Richardson of Whitby and their guests B Armstrong (Hunley Hall) and A Farndale (Kirkbymoorside) with 76 points.

Diana Upton and Jo Mason of Whitby and their guests E Roe and J Martin (Lindrick) came second with 73 points and the Lady Captain Jennifer Ratcliffe and Maureen Eglon and their guests M Yates and A Turner (Saltburn) were third with 72. Kath Cooling was nearest to the pin in two at hole 17.

Saturday (29 Sep) sees a Stableford, with the 36 hole Stein Trophy and junior Stein Trophy on Sunday.

Although the trophy is for the best gross score there is also a nett competition, so if you want to play 36 holes there is still time to get your name on the entry sheet. There is a Midweek Stableford on Wednesday 26th.

The finalists in the men’s knockouts have been decided. In the President’s Putter Richard Brown plays Simon Walker.

Simon is also in the final of the Beckett Cup against Kevin Barker, as well as partnering Ian Wiggins against Richard Brown and Steve Swales in the Milburn Trophy final.

James Jewell plays Sam Wiggins in the Jim Cooke Scratch Cup.

In the Rabbits’ section knockout final, Billy Hardy beat Gordon Muir by one hole.

Eileen Lockerbie won £100 in this week’s 200 Club draw.

Tony’s Tip: SOMETIMES you can find yourself in quite thick rough close to the putting green and it is obvious that you won’t be able to make clean contact with the ball.

In this situation play it like a greenside bunker shot, aiming a couple of inches behind the ball, using a longer swing than usual and making sure that you follow through. You probably won’t be able to be too precise, but you should always get the ball onto the green.