McLaren edges out Wassall in Midweek Stableford

Whitby Golf Club.
Whitby Golf Club.

Jamie McLaren won the Midweek Stableford at Whitrby Golf Club with 42 points, pushing Jamie Wassall into second place with his score of 41.

Chris Shardlow continued his steady reduction in handicap as he returned 40 points, and the final prize was won by Clive Lyth with 39.

Alan Atkinson and Richard Appleton had 38.

The first Seniors Open Day of the season took place on Friday, and was won by home club member Vic Wilson and his nephew Eric Wilson, who plays at Kirkbymoorside.

Their score of 45 points gave them a two point winning margin over M Jelic from Bridlington and Peter Jackson of Whitby.

T Calvert and A Calder of Wilton took 3rd place on 42 points on the back nine from Richard Appleton and Alan Atkinson of Whitby.

Mike Weatherill of Hunley Hall had the longest drive on the second hole and Alan Kelledy of Ripon city was nearest to the pin on hole 11.

The June Medal was played in very strong wind, making scoring very difficult and Steve Purvis’s gross 75 was exceptionally good in the conditions.

He won Division One with nett 72, from Colin Upton on 73 and Tam McConville and Dave Upton on 74.

Division Two was won by Jim Hall with 71 from Paul Sykes on 72, who must be regretting taking 10 strokes on the 16th hole.

Billy Hardy had 73 and Jem Cockerill 74.

Simon Walker, Ian Wiggins, Alex Wiggins and David Portwine repeated their win in last year’s Club Texas Scramble, scoring 57.1 to win by 0.1 over Dave Upton, Mark Kerr, Colin Upton and Andy Smith who scored 57.2.

The Mary Richardson Mixed Greensomes was won by lady captain Amanda Ing and her husband Kevin with 71.2, beating Colin Rutland and Sue Dryden on the last nine holes.

Mike and Karen Fellows were third on 75.2.

The ladies’ June Medal was won by the in-form Sue Wessell with 76, beating Wendy Hurworth by one stroke.

Kate Bradley had 78 and Doreen Richardson 79.

Sue Richardson had the best score in the Stableford with 25 points.

The alternate Stableford competition for category 5 players has been won by Sue Richardson with 31 points.

The first ladies matchplay competition was concluded on Wednesday May 27 and the Endeavour trophy was won by Amanda Ing with Sue Wessel runner-up.

The qualifiers for the EG Australian Spoons regional final at Workington are Janet Wightman and Sue Wessel.

In a change to the fixture list, there will be a Stableford on Saturday.

The Centenary Trophy takes place on Sunday and the ladies play for the Jane White Foursomes on Tuesday.

The mens Midweek Medal is on Wednesday, followed by the ladies Summer Aggregate on Thursday.

Members should note that the Fish Friday Charity competition is being played on Friday, with the tee closed from 9am until 2.30 pm.

There will be a lot of pressure on the car park, so if players can share cars it would be very helpful.

The winner of this week’s 200 Club for £100 is Richard Pettit.