Jamieson claims midweek Stableford by one shot

Share this article

BRIAN Jamieson won the Midweek Stableford at Whitby Golf Club last Wednesday with 41 points, just ahead of Kieran Noble on 40.

Brian Hurst, Byron Blessed and Jimmy Witt had 39, with Colin Upton on 38 and Richard Brown on 37.

Peter Scholey turned on the style to win Saturday’s Stableford with an excellent score of 43 points.

This put him two points clear of Tom Havelock, with Dave Weatherill, Steve Purvis and Paul Ventress on 40.

With one round to go Eric Wilson leads the best ten cards with an aggregate score of 376. Kevan Little is on 366, Dave Upton 364, Steve Dosdale 359 and Mark McBurney 354.

In the final game of the Winter Fourballs, Andy Lawler and Bill Estill won with a 62, beating Paul Ventress and Dave Russell over the last nine holes.

Bob Reynolds and Simon Walker came third with 63, beating Brian Jamieson and Kevin Barker over the back nine.

Simon Walker won the best six cards with a total of 374, with Paul Ventress on 379 and James Morrison and Andy Pearson on 384. Simon also won Division One of the Eclectic with 52.

Kieran Noble and Dean Bennett were one shot behind on 53.

In Division Two, Rabbits’ vice-captain Mick Christie was the winner with 50, four clear of Colin Rutland in second, with Brian Jamieson and Dave Russell on 55.

The final Stableford of the winter on Saturday (19 Mar) is in the form of a Team Stableford.

Players nominate their own teams of four (although they do not need to play together), play individual Stableford, and the best three cards of the four give the team total.

The fourth card is only used to decide a tied score. Sunday sees the Opening Bogey of the main season with a starting sheet in the locker room. There will be a Midweek Stableford on Wednesday.

The last event of the Scarborough and District Alliance season is the Am-Am at Flamborough Head tomorrow.

This is played with a shotgun start at 9am, so players should give themselves plenty of time to get to their tee.

The Whitby teams are - Team A: Ian Wiggins, Tam McConville, Peter Easton, Dean Bennett; Team B: Howard Drake, Steve Ellis, Neil Inglis, Paul Ventress; Team C: Andy Pearson, Simon Grant, Austin James, James Jewell.

The seniors’ section brings its winter season to a close with a Texas Scramble on Thursday. The golf will be followed by a presentation lunch.

If you want to take part in either or both of these please put your name on the lists in the locker room.

The seniors play their first match of the season at home to Hunley Hall on Tuesday 12 April and the Peter Mothersdale Trophy, a Betterball Stableford, will take place on Thursday 14 April. Entry lists are in the locker room.

The Rabbits’ Winter Alliance has finished and the season-long Challenge Trophy has been won by Filey with 1424, followed by Driffield on 1426 and Kirkbymoorside on 1427. Whitby were back in 9th with 1533.

The Les Clarkson Trophy was won by Bridlington and South Cliff on 226 with Kirkbymoorside on 232. Whitby were 9th again with 250. The first match of the season is away to Saltburn on Friday 15 April with a 3pm tee-off.

There will be a quiz in the clubhouse next Friday (25 March), The last one was very popular, so tell your friends, get a team together and come along. Bob is putting on a pie and peas supper for £3.50.

Ritchie Clark won £100 in the 200 Club weekly draw and Jimmy Witt won the draw for a year’s free membership.