Chilton heads off East Yorkshire riders’ challenge

Whitby's Andrew Chilton competes in the two-day East Yorkshire trials
Whitby's Andrew Chilton competes in the two-day East Yorkshire trials

ONE hundred and sixty trials riders from all parts of the country converged on the Flask Inn at the weekend to compete in the popular East Yorks two-day trial.

Held in brilliant weather conditions, the trial, put together by the amalgamation of all East Yorkshire Centre Clubs, takes in some of the best terrain there is for the sport of trials and the overlord who sees everything runs smoothly is Scarborough’s Pat Galway.

Winner for the second year running was talented Whitby rider Andy Chilton on the Beta.

After a relatively easy Saturday, six riders remained unpenalised - Chilton, Adam Milner, Tony Scarlett, Dave Pye, Matt Maynard and Richie Kendra.

Sunday was all about pressure and first to drop marks were Pye, Scarlett and Kendra, then Jack Howell.

Maynard kept the pressure on until the last section which took a five off him.

Chilton kept it together to clean the last and finish with a loss of just three marks, to head off a determined challenge from Bradley Cox as he matched Chilton’s score on Sunday, but the two marks lost on Saturday meant runner-up position for the youngster.

James Carr rode the AM Ossa into third place on eight marks lost and Adam Milner, fourth on 10, with Port Mulgrave’s Jack Howell fifth.

A spokesman for the club said: “It was a great weekend’s sport and the clubs thank everyone for the effort put into this event to make it a success.

“Also thanks to the Flask Inn for looking after everyone so well.”


Premier: Andy Chilton ( 3. Special 1st Class: Bradley Cox (Beta) 5, James Carr (AM Ossa) 8, Adam Milner (Acklams Beta) 10, Jack Howell (Beta) 10, Tony Scarlett (Beta) 11, David Pye (Gas Gas) 13, Matt Maynard (Sherco) 16, John Hillam (Gas Gas) 18.

1st Class: Tom Hick (Beta) 18, Andy Cripps (Sherco) 20. Gavin Black (Montesa) 22, Josh Sprintall (Gas Gas) 22, Richard Kendra (Gas Gas) 24, Ian Hopley (Beta) 27, Rob Loney (Gas Gas) 28, S Larkin (Beta) 29.

2nd Class: John Cowley (Ossa) 29, James Noble (Gas Gas) 32, Dave Clinkard (Beta) 32, Ben Horner (Gas Gas) 34, N Jones ((Beta) 34, Roman Kyrnyckyj (Beta) 36, Chris Heane (Beta) 36, Danny Cockshott (Beta) 37, N Savage ((Gas Gas) 38, Kevin Tate (Beta) 38, J Stephenson (Gas Gas) 41, Richard Allen (Yamaha) 41, Peter Wardle (Montesa) 41, Steve Williams (Gas Gas) 44, Lee Black (Gas Gas) 44.

Over 40 award: Stuart Tate (Gas Gas) 46.

Over 50 award: T Cowley (Ossa) 65.

Over 60 award: Stuart Cripps (Beta) 198.

Novice: Will McBain (Montesa) 46.

East Yorks Centre Novice: Mick Watson (Gas Gas) 58.