Cheers! Lyth wins Whisky Trot

ALISTAIR Lyth won the Whisky Trot on Wednesday 12 December with an excellent 44 points.

John Carter and Mike Storr had 43, Adam Lyth 42 and men’s captain Terry Wilkinson 41.

Dave Kirk, Robin Sisson and Tam McConville scored 40 points, and Paul Mendelsohn and Kieran Noble were the last prize-winners on 39.

Saturday’s competition was a Turkey Trot with meat vouchers for all the prize-winners.

Richard Thomson came out on top with 34 points over 15 holes.

Tam McConville and Jim Hall had 33, Steve Swales, Mike Storr, Simon Walker and Kevin Barker had 32 and Martin Shackleton took the last prize on 31. Dave Upton had the same score but missed out over the last nine holes.

There was a Spirit Trot on Sunday over 15 holes and Howard Dean was the winner with a score of 35 points.

Michael Coates was in second place with 34 but was unable to take an alcoholic prize due to his age. Andy Pearson had 33, Adrian Brown, John Carter, Mike Harper and Mike Kilpatrick had 32, and the last prize was won by Tam McConville with 31.

There will be a Stableford tomorrow and a Fourball Betterball on Sunday 23.

On 26 December there will be the traditional Boxing Day Fourball with entry by a wrapped prize to the value of £5.

The ladies’ section played their December Stableford on Thursday 13 and this was won by Marjorie Mackenzie with an excellent score of 40 points.

Janet Wightman had 33, Karen Doncaster 32 and Karen Fellows 27.

Andy Brown won this week’s draw for £100 in the 200 Club.

Tony’s Tip:

WHEN the sand in the bunkers is compacted by heavy rain the club head bounces off the sand very quickly, making it likely that the ball will be thinned, either flying right over the green or hitting the face of the bunker.

To try to avoid this aim nearer to the ball than usual and play the shot with the club face square or even a tiny bit closed.

This will allow the sharp leading edge of the club to cut into the sand and get below the ball.