Blues confirm 2016/17 squad

Whitby Town's 2016/17 squad
Whitby Town's 2016/17 squad

Whitby Town have finalised their playing squad for the start of the 2016/17 season.

The Blues get the new campaign underway with a trip to play Sutton Coldfield Town on Saturday, in a game that will be played at Eastwood Town’s Coronation Park due an issue with the Midlands club’s home ground.

And manager Chris Hardy has confirmed which players will be in contention for the league opener, following a pre-season campaign that has seen them field a number of trialists.

“I’m pleased that we’ve now been able to finalise the core group of players who we will be working with this season,” Hardy said.

“The process of working that out is what pre-season is all about, and I’m glad we’ve been able to identify the boys we need in each position.

“I’m fairly happy with the make-up of the squad, but we are always looking at how we can improve. If we find players who we can bring in that will make us better then we won’t hesitate to do so, but it will always be a case of only adding lads who are of higher quality than those we already possess.”

Former Accrington Stanley forward Tyler Scarth has departed the club and signed for Northern League side Norton & Stockton Ancients, while locally-based winger James Organ-Simpson has returned to Fishburn Park of the Teesside League.

Sixteen-year-old Whitby youngster Elliot Anderson remains very much part of Hardy’s long-term plans following some impressive showings in pre-season, but is expected to link up with a club lower down the footballing pyramid this campaign in order to gain some experience of senior football.

“Elliot is certainly one for the future,” Hardy added.

“He’s a good lad with talent and a great deal of potential, but at this stage he needs to be playing regular football at a decent standard to help him develop and build his confidence.

“With that in mind, we’re trying to fix something up for him with a Northern League or Wearside League club for this season.”

Whitby Town squad 2016/17:

Goalkeepers: Shane Bland, James Dawson, Dan Dixon.

Defenders: Callum Martin, Mark Robinson, Lee Bullock, Ben Askins, Andrew May, Kieran Weledji, Danny McWilliams.

Midfielders: Dave McTiernan, Adam Gell, Dale Hopson, Cameron Park, Curtis Round, Steven Snaith.

Forwards: Mikey Roberts, Matty Tymon, Anthony Hume, Jordan Jewson.