Derwent Valley League to launch new monthly awards

Derwent Valley news
Derwent Valley news

A new monthly award scheme, sponsored by Dale Power Solutions, was unveiled at tonight’s Derwent Valley League Annual General Meeting at Ayton Sports Association.

The new awards, awarded at the end of each month, will see the batsman with the leading score and the bowler with the top figures each receive £25 and a certificate thanks to the sponsorship of Dale Power Solutions, who are based on the Eastfield Industrial Estate.

The 30 member clubs voted in favour of several rule changes, including bringing the start time of all league games to 1.30pm instead of 2.15pm.

This move was in line with the Beckett League’s decision to start their games at 1.30pm, which was also approved at their AGM last week.

Another rule was voted in to help cut down on the spate of teams calling off games due to inability to raise sides in the 2013 season, with 33 matches cancelled for this reason last year.

This new rule would add to the current rule which sees a team deducted five points and fined £20 if they are unable to raise a side but to add that the team who are due to play an away game and being unable to raise a side or fulfil a fixture and not informing the home club 24 hours before the game is due to start - ie by 1.30pm on Friday - then in addition to the league penalties above that the club to pay the opponents £40 towards tea expenses and ground preparations.

The fine is to be paid to the opponents within two weeks of the date of the game, and the change was made to ensure that home teams are not out of pocket for preparing a pitch and buying in teas only for the opposition to call off giving inadequate notice.

A similar rule fining sides £20 for giving less than 24 hours notice for a cup game was also voted in at the AGM.

The other rule voted in at the meeting was to bring the Derwent Valley League in line with the Beckett League in regard to the reduction of overs when the start of a match is delayed or the first innings interrupted by adverse weather or the state of the ground or pitch, then for every full six minutes of play lost one over will be deducted from each innings, providing that a minimum of 30 overs can be completed in each innings.

If there is any further rain break in either the first or second innings in a match reduced to 30 overs the game shall be abandoned.

The league also confirmed their new president as Lockton stalwart Chester Brown, the veteran taking over to fill the gap left by Ken Towse’s resignation due to ill health.

A minute’s silence was held before the meeting for the following who had passed away over the past 12 months; past league president and league chairman John Lumley, Hospital Cup secretary and Staxton CC stalwart Alan Heelbeck, Cayton CC President John Stubbs, league committee member and Sherburn stalwart Steven Walker, Reg Boyes (Langdale End CC), Duncombe Park player Liam Ogunshakin, ex-umpire Jerry Newman, Ebberston CC president and former player Robin Atkinson, Brompton scorer, tealady and ex-secretary Lyn Gibson, and Muston CC founder Colin Brown.

The league’s child welfare officer Malcolm Maw reminded clubs that players under the age of 13 on September 1 of that season should not be allowed to play in senior cricket.

The formation of the league was also rubber-stamped, with division A champions Mulgrave and third-placed Fylingdales 2nds moving up to the Beckett League division C, runners-up Great Habton having been refused admission to the Beckett League after the club’s facilities failed to meet their requirements.

No teams were relegated from the Beckett League as the higher league had lost Flamborough and Snainton due to resignations in 2013 and Duncombe Park 2nds had left to join the York Senior League.

The league committee also asked the clubs if they wished to continue with cup competitions after may cup-ties were conceded last season, but all the clubs - bar one - voted for the continuation of the four cup competitions.

Wykeham 3rds will play their home games at Snainton now rather than their former base at Scalby 3rds’ Burniston ground.

The league’s individual awards were handed out by the new president at the end of the meeting.

The awards were

Division A batting award - 531 runs - Robin Richardson (Great Habton)

Division A bowling award - 39 wickets - Will Curtis (Great Habton)

Division A catching award - 19 catches - Michael Thompson (Mulgrave)

Division A wicketkeeping award - 18 victims - James Newton (Mulgrave)

Division B batting award - 710 runs - Rory Lancaster (Lockton)

Division B bowling award - 33 wickets - Liam Lowery (Flixton 3rds)

Division B catching award - nine catches - Luke Dixon (Flamborough)

Division B wicketkeeping award - 16 victims - Andy Dixon (Flamborough)

Division C batting award - 347 runs - Joel Sarup (Ganton 2nds)

Division C bowling award - 48 wickets - Cameron Dobson (Hunmanby)

Division C catching award - 11 catches - John Best (Cayton 3rds)

Division C wicketkeeping award - 12 victims - Nick Ellis (Wykeham 3rds).

League constitution for 2014 season

Division A: Great Habton, Oriel, Muston, Hospitals/Rugby Club, Sewerby 3rds, Forge Valley 3rds, Whitby 3rds, Brompton 2nds, Lockton, Flamborough.

Division B: Kirkbymoorside 2nds, Flixton 3rds, Bridlington 3rds, Sherburn 2nds, Nawton Grange 2nds, Wold Newton 2nds, Seamer 3rds, Sewerby 4ths, Filey 2nds, Snainton.

Division C: Cayton 3rds, Scalby 3rds, Ravenscar 2nds, Muston 2nds, Valley Bar Nomads, Hunmanby, Ganton 2nds, Thornton Dale 2nds, Forge Valley 4ths, Wykeham 3rds.