It’s all change for Derwent Valley League this season

The 2015 season of the Derwent Valley Cricket League commences this Saturday, with all league games starting at 2pm this year.

Friday, 1st May 2015, 12:47 pm
Scalby 3rds
Scalby 3rds

This year the league has just two divisions of 10 teams after losing a division this year with a number of teams resigning last season and three teams being allowed up into the Scarborough Beckett League to make up the shortfall of teams, with Flamborough, Great Habton and Muston all making the step up.

Division A looks to be a competitive league this year, however Kirkbymoorside look to be favourites to clinch the league title, but they will have good competition from Lockton and Hospitals/Rugby Club CC.

Sewerby 3rds and Forge Valley 3rds will be hoping to improve on their 2014 division A performances this coming season, along with last season’s division B champions Flixton 3rds and last season’s fellow division B sides Wold Newton 2nds, Sherburn 2nds, Nawton Grange 2nds and Filey 2nds.

Division B has just one side left from last seasons line-up in Snainton, who will be hoping that all their players are available to put up a strong challenge for promotion.

They are joined in the division by Cayton 3rds, who were division C champions in 2014 and Scalby 3rds, who were runners-up.

The league will be made up with last seasons division C sides Muston 2nds, Ravenscar 2nd, Valley Bar Nomads, Wykeham 3rds, Thornton Dale 2nds, Ganton 2nds and Forge Valley 4ths.

This certainly looks to be a very competitive division in 2015.

The league will run four cup competitions this coming season with both the Home Guard Sunday Cup and the Welford Cup being competed for by all 20 teams.

Each player will have to bowl two overs apiece in this year’s Welford Cup.

Kirkbymoorside play a local derby in the second round of the Home Guard Cup at home to Nawton Grange 2nds, while Lockton have a long journey to make to play their Welford Cup game at Wold Newton 2nds.

The division A cup, formerly known as the Atlas Ward Structures Cup, is now called the Severfield Cricket Cup, with the tie of this competition being Lockton hosting Kirkbymoorside.

The division B cup competition is now the Murray Brown and Son Cup (formerly for division C teams) and the tie of this competition sees last season’s winners Scalby 3rds at home to Ravenscar 2nds, while last season’s runners-up Cayton 3rds welcome Wykeham 3rds.

League secretary Bernard Goulding said: “The league would very much like to thank Severfield and Murray Brown and Son for their kind sponsorship of these two cup competitions.

“Along with the Home Guard Club of Sherwood Street, Scarborough, Trophy Trader of Scarborough and League vice president Pete Grundy, who provide man of the match awards at the finals of all these cup competitions.

“Once again thanks to Dale Power Solutions, who are giving out monthly awards to the batsman with the highest score and the bowler with the best bowling performance.

“These awards are being given out to the winners at the end of May, June, July and August for each month’s best performances in league games only across both divisions.”