Whitby KO North Cliff in cliffhanger battle

The successful Whitby side
The successful Whitby side

Westgate Bowling Club hosted the second of four main competitions, the Association Knock Out Trophy.

Whitby and North Cliff, Scarborough, battled it out at the Bridlington green.

Each year clubs enter teams which in the early rounds are played on a six at home and six away basis, this then culminates in the semi finals played on neutral greens.

This year Dukes Park A played North Cliff A at Eastfield, the latter winning 215 to 204 to go through to the final.

The second semi-final was another closely-fought contest between Whitby and Borough B, held at Robin Hood’s Bay, Whitby scraping through 225 to 219.

The final was always expected to be a close-run thing, between Whitby, who have never won this trophy, and North Cliff A, who have won it three times.

After the first four games North Cliff led 83 points to 74 points, some of the ‘big guns’ being held by Whitby. In the middle four games Lee Deighton of North Cliff- playing exceptionally well- took one off the much-fancied David Lowe 21-5, this giving North Cliff, a 17 point advantage going into the last four games.

With two games on the green the lead had changed and Whitby, thanks to Steve Dover winning 21-6, found themselves seven points in front.

North Cliff could not maintain the momentum and losing the last two games handed the trophy to Whitby.

The presentation of medals to each club was made by the Association president, Mick Hill and Jackie Stapleton (competition secretary) to each team and finally the trophy was presented to Alan Landers, captain of Whitby.

The Knockout Cup was donated by Sylvia Stapleton in 2002. Sylvia and her husband Ted were members of North Cliff/Manor Road and following the demise of the Proudfoot Cup, a new trophy was donated.

For a number of years no one was aware of the mystery benefactor until both Sylvia and Ted passed away and their daughter Jackie (competition/fixture Secretary) felt it was time people were told.

The year’s third major trophy, the Hospital Cup, will be played at Dukes Park, Bridlington, on Sunday. Dress code applies.

Eastield Bowing Club hosted a drawn pairs event arranged by Scarborough and District Bowling Association to coincide with the Men’s Inter-District competition.

Sixty-four crown green bowlers competed in pairs drawn at random.

In the quarter-finals Terry Summersgill (Borough and Dennis O’Neill (Dukes Park) 21 overcame EileenDawson (North Cliff) and Mick Gates (Borough) 19.

The second quarter-final was a 21-10 win for Dave Moment (North Cliff) and Sue Wilkinson (Borough) over Penny Gosling (Borough) with Neil Ledingham (Hunmanby).

This was followed by John Holmes (Coal Aston) and John Gascoine (North Cliff) suffering a 21-12 loss against Keith Watson (Borough) and Phil Todd (Hunmanby).

The final quarter was between Sue Emmerson and Ray Leeman both of Whitby and Tony Bland (Borough_ with Alan Standing both (Brid Bay) finished 21-18 to the latter.

The first semi proved to be a hard fought battle lost by O’Neill and Summersgill against Moment and Wilkinson by a 21-18 scoreline and their final opponents decided with Watson and Todd overcoming Emmerson and Leeman 21-15.

This made way for eventual winners Keith Watson and Phil Todd overcoming Dave Moment and Sue Wilkinson 21-15.

Sixty-four bowlers from all across the east coast set off in the GT Garages sponsored singles merit at Borough Bowling green.

In the the quarter-finals Hunmanby’s Phil Todd saw off North Cliff’s Derek Swift 21 -13, Alan Landers of Whitby lost 21-12 to Dukes Park’s Kevin Gates, Borough’s Matthew Bell beat

North Cliff’s Lee Deighton 21-16, and Dukes Park’s Andy Deighton lost 21-17 to Whitby’s Dave Lowe.

The first semi- final saw some superb bowling from Kevin Gates to beat Phil Todd 21-14.

The second semi final was an epic affair which saw Dave Lowe run up an 18-8 lead against Matthew Bell before Matthew

turned it round to run out a 21-19 winner.

The final produced some absolutely brilliant bowling that saw Kevin Gates take the trophy with a 21-13 victory over Matthew Bell.