Leaders Filey are stunned by rivals Staxton

Cricket round-up
Cricket round-up

Beckett League Premier Division leaders Filey were given a shock by title rivals Staxton, who won their meeting by 35 runs.

Staxton were dismissed for a very attainable 150, Chris Dove (43) and David Morris (30) scoring the runs, Josh Dawson (4-38) and Callum Ferrie (3-37) taking the wickets.

David Brannan's unbeaten 40 pushed Filey towards their target, but 3-20 from Brett Crowe helped to end their charge.

Staxton and Nawton Grange fought their way to a battling tie in their game on Sunday, which was reduced to 25 overs.

Grange tallied 118-8, with Jodie Robson top scoring on 31, there were also contributions in the 20s from Jonny Pickard and Shaun Smith.

Andy Holtby finished with 3-16, while Brett Crowe and Elliot Cooper took two wickets each.

Staxton opener James Armstrong's 21 helped to hold Staxton together in the face of some fine bowling from Nick Thornicroft, who captured 6-71.

In the end Crowe with 34 not out and an unbeaten 15 from Cooper allowed Staxton to tie things up in thrilling style.

Ebberston remain in touch in second after they beat Mulgrave by seven wickets.

Chris Knight, Connor Lupton and Chris Clarkson all reached scores in the 20s for Mulgrave, as four wickets apiece for Frankie Beal and Sam Hardie took them out of 110.

Tom Brickman remained unbeaten on 59 and Jon Mason chipped in with 31 as Ebberston cruised to victory.

At the other end of the table, Nawton Grange saw off Thornton Dale in double quick time by 10 wickets, having bowled out their opponents for just 20.

Only Adrian Turnbull and Andy Hill scored more that one run as Dale crumbled under the pressure of Dean Coote and Josh Greenlay's bowling.

Having been 15-2 at the start of their innings, 10-man Dale lost seven wickets for just five runs, as Greenlay finished with 4-5 from eight overs and Coote collected 5-10 from 7.3.

Grange took just over six overs at the crease to finish off the job.

Forge Valley's hopes of avoiding the drop were aided by a 71-run success against Scalby.

Eric Hall's impressive 104 was Valley's only score of note as Ed Hopper took 5-54 and Ryan Labuschagne collected 3-23 in a total of 181.

Joe Hills' 44 provided Scalby with some hope, but Sean Pinder (4-15) played his part in ending their progression.

Seamer picked up a solid win by eight wickets against Heslerton.

Scott Brennan produced Heslerton's only highlights with 30 as Matty Morris' 4-17 helped to see them off for 115.

An unbeaten 69 from Gregg Chadwick and 26 from Craig Baker did the rest.

Staithes toppled Cayton by six wickets.

Only Jake McAleese (28) impressed in the Cayton batting line up as Tom Steyert (4-23), Simon Bowes (2-5), Chris Morrison (2-20) and Paul Theaker (2-30) ripped through.

James Ward kept the pressure on Staithes with 2-21, but knocks in the 20s from Bowes and Morrison saw them home.

The Hatton brothers will have been disappointed to be on the losing team in Division One, as their Flixton 2nds team slipped to a 20-run defeat against Scalby 2nds.

Calum Hatton bagged 4-44 as Scalby reached 204-8, with scores in the 40s from James Ledden and Gareth Edmunds helping their cause.

Elliot Hatton then struck an unbeaten 101, but Flixton dropped agonisingly short.

Table-topping Settrington were given a shock as they lost by three wickets against Brompton.

Pete Webster was the bowling star with 5-31 as only George Rounthwaite (56) troubled the scorers in Settrington's 135.

Andy Monkman's 3-21 kept Brompton honest, but 31 from Tom Noble and scores in the 20s from Ross Triffitt and Mark Bruce took them past the winning post.

Wykeham won by eight wickets against Cloughton.

Paul Virr (44), Jon King (31) and Aaron Virr (28) helped Cloughton to 154-8, with Dave Pearson's 4-40 and Chris Soulsby's 2-32 causing the issues.

King continued a solid all-round day with 2-49, but respective unbeaten knocks of 82 from Mike Dugdale and 23 from Ethon Pashby brought the game to a conclusion.

There was no play possible in the games between Great Habton and Sherburn and Staxton 2nds and Ganton.