Red-nosed riders raise funds for Comic Relief

Andy Chilton
Andy Chilton
Have your say

RED-nosed riders were in abundance at Scarborough and District Motorcycle Club’s Red Nose trial on Sunday, backed up by numerous ruddy cheeked observers due to a bitter east wind sweeping through the old army camp at Low North Park.

But Whitby’s Andy Chilton proved oblivious to it and continued his great run of form to take the win from fast improving and confident Pocklington youngster Ollie Kendra.

With British Championship and World Trials adapting No Stop rules, Scarborough Club have decided to follow suit - rightly so - and Dave Wilkinson and his posse of helpers flagged this event out spot on.

Chilton, in impressive form, adapted well, riding smooth and fluently, only the huge greasy rock step of ten causing him bother losing five of his total here.

Kendra starred on this one with three lost, but the rising star from Kirkbymoorside, Youth A winner Dan Peace, bettered everyone, recording three fantastic cleans here to give him best overall score of the day on just seven marks lost.

That included a five on the third section first lap for a superb ride from the youngster.

Wombleton’s Shane Monkman made no mistake this week and was a clear winner in Clubman A from Ben Myers and Mark Cameron and Colin Bailey muscled the big Ariel round to beat the little Maestro of the 70s and 80s, Brian Johnson, by three marks after Johnson fived the first.

Jack Peace cleaned up in Youth Intermediate and Scarborough siblings Zac and Claire Collinson took the Youth B and D class.

Scarborough DMC would like to thank all who supported and helped in the event, riders, course plotting, observing and hopefully the event will have raised much needed-funds for Comic Relief.


Expert: Andy Chilton (Beta 9, Ollie Kendra (Gas Gas) 22, Josh Sprintall (Gas Gas) 63.

Intermediate: Isaac Gale (Beta) 33.

C/man A: Shane Monkman (Gas Gas) 9, Ben Myers (Sherco) 17, Mark Cameron ( Sherco) 19.

C/man B: Colin Bailey (Ariel) 14, Brian Johnson (Sherco) 17, James Wainwright (Beta) 19.

Youth A: Dan Peace (Apico Beta uk) 7. Youth Inter: Jack Peace (Apico Beta uk) 33.

Youth B: Zac Collinson (Feetup Beta) 71.

Youth D: Claire collinson (Beta) 11.

Adult D: Paul Turton (Yamaha) 28.

Youth Novice: Lewis Woodall (Gas Gas) 77.

Twin Shock: Danny Hunter (Ariel) 33.