Part of Whitby’s historic engine shed is set to be converted into a two bedroomed holiday cottage.
Terry Hodgkinson who owns the building has applied to the borough council for planning permission to revamp the listed building which dates back to 1847.
Some of the natural stone will be retained and re-used alongside brick rendering and grey metal cladding.
The pitched roof will be replaced with a green roof and metal cladded fascia boards with the timber windows being replaced with grey powder coated windows and doors.
Part of the site is already being used for car parking after being granted planning approval last year but other parts are prone to rubbish being dumped and rough sleepers due to it’s isolated access.
York based architects, PPIY, said in its submission to Scarborough Council: “The proposal illustrated in will bring back into use, and therefore ensure the on-going maintenance, of a currently vacant and inaccessible area of land adjoining a listed building of local and historical significance.
“The Holiday Cottage is an appropriate use for a site which is accessed from a largely residential street and also provides the opportunity to improve the experience of rail passengers arriving in Whitby.”
In 2013 consents were given for the shed to be developed into a gallery and exhibition space incorporating a café, restaurant and meeting facility.
These were shelved due to difficulties in raising the funds.
Following sections of the building having to be demolished after being damaged by a bomb in the Second World War there have been a number of uses for the sheds.
In 1959 temporary planning permission was granted and renewed regularly for a fish packing and storage business until 1974/75 and in 1979 it started being used as a chandlery.